Questions about reporting a guest....

Anna1063
Level 2
Shakopee, MN

Questions about reporting a guest....

First off, I have been hosting and traveling with AirBnB for 4 years now.  I feel like I have been really lucky and had some truely great experiences.  Then of course comes that one guest.  She booked the space for one night for herself.  At the last minute she messaged me and said she was bringing a friend.  The space is set up for two so that wasn't a problem (I just like to know who is coming before they arrive since this is my home).  When they arrived, I asked them to remove their shoes in the house (it is posted under the house rules).  I had to ask them several times during their very short stay to not walk in the house with shoes on.  They ordered in food and left spilled food on the kitchen and dining floor.  They left our patio door unlocked and ajar during the night.  They left the windows open in their room with the central air running (over 90 degrees outside).  Finally, when I went to change the room over in the morning, I found that they had spilled something liquid on the carpet in the bedroom.  

They were ok people in general but just so disrespectful of someone else's property.  I don't feel anything they did was malicious just thoughtless.  They live within a short distance of my home.  I am concered about leaving a negative review.  What happens when you report someone? Is it private? Is there a way to block this person from booking my property again?  I would love to be able to post my concerns to other hosts but I worry about retaliation.  At the least, I want to block her booking in the future.  Any advice is apprecitated!

17 Replies 17
Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Anna1063

Anna, there are all sorts of ways of getting your point across without offending the guest, and (if possible) this is the best path to take!