The Host Guarantee is 100% Bull**bleep**

Patricia1684
Level 1
Portland, OR

The Host Guarantee is 100% Bull**bleep**

I am fairly new to hosting. I had a guest do $180 worth of damage. Mostly by staining almost every linen in the house with hair dye. I photographed everything of course. I took the weekend to wash the linens to see if I could get the stains out. When they did not come out I asked the guest to pay for the damge. She refused. So I inolved Airbnb, naively thinking that I would be covered by the host guarantee. Because I waited more than 24 hours, Airbnb says I am not covered by the guarantee. But 24 hours is not enough time to get the linens washed to see if they were salvagable. I have a few other friends that are hosts that have said they never get reimbursed from Airbnb either, despite making valid claims with excellent documentation. 

I am thinking about switching over to VRBO. Does anyone know if their guarantee is better?

I wish their was a more public way I could shame Airbnb into doing the right thing. Does anyone know if there is a good way to get Airbnb to do the right thing?

5 Replies 5
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Patricia1684,

Did you have a deposit on your listing ?

(i can not check it, as your account is not active at the moment)

The deposit is much more easier procedure when claiming (small) damages:

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/140/how-does-airbnb-handle-security-deposits

best regards,

Emiel

I do have a deposit. But the next guest checked in the same day. 4 hours later. Which is not enough time to submit a claim. Additionally, I needed time to wash the linens to try to get the stains out. I was trying to help out the guest in this way, but got totally screwed by it. My hope was that the stains would come out and I wouldn't need to submit a claim. But they didn't come out, and time was up. Clearly the deposit is also as fake as the host guarantee.

Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA