Toiletries Solutions

Melanie58
Level 10
Boise, ID

Toiletries Solutions

I have only had four guests.  In the bathroom I just put some things I have around the house that people might need, like half used bottles of shampoo and whatnot.  I didn't have any half-used soap, so put a brand new bottle of soap that was about $8.  This is my fault really for putting out something like that.  I should have gone to the store and bought a bottle of Suave for $1.50, but I just was too lazy and honestly never anticipated anyone taking it.  Anyway, my last guest made off with the bottle of soap.  (To give you an idea, the room charge was $27 for four adults since I am just starting out and set prices low to get guests intially).  I'll chalk that up to a learning experience, but now that it has happened I wanted to ask what others do in regard to toiletries?

I would like to leave some toiletries because it is really nice when the hotel has what you need that you forgot, yet I suppose I could just tell guests to ask if they need something.

I thought about having a little sign posted on the mirror that kind of advertises the toiletries like a mini-bar or something - you're welcome to use these items here, if you would like to take with you there is a $5 charge per item?  Or in a more authoritarian version I guess I could charge a security deposit and let people know in the guest guide that they will be charged if they make off with anything.  Anyway, I thought that maybe sounds too fussy, and I don't really want to police or explain all that.  

I saw something where people provide single-use size items, but honestly I think that would cost me more than losing a bottle of soap every few guests.

Anyway, what are your thoughts and experiences?

37 Replies 37
James1
Level 10
SF, CA