Wanting to cancel a guest without penalty

Anne-And-Kevin0
Level 2
San Jose, Costa Rica

Wanting to cancel a guest without penalty

Hello... this is my first time reaching out in this community.

My husband and I run a B&B in the moutains of Costa Rica. We have a "strict" cancellation policy. We have guests who have booked from India for next January. My father has taken ill and we have decided to return to Canada. Last week, we sold the property. These new owners have many years experiece in the hospitality industry (one is a chef) and they want to continue with the B&B business. To be completely transparent, we have communicated with these guests, explaining what has happened and giving them the opportunity to cancel (hoping they wouldn't as we're sure their experience will be lovely regardless... we know the knew owners well). At first, our guests said they would like to keep the booking. Then yesterday, they wrote back saying they feel uncertain and since they are travelling such a long way, they want to find a different place. No problem. It's their perogative. I quickly changed our cancellation status from "strict" to "moderate" so they could cancel without losing their money. However, when they try to cancel, the change doesn't seem to apply to them (perhaps because when they booked it was on "strict"?). So, this means we would need to cancel on our end. BUT, that would mean we would get penalized (well, the new owners would be penalized and that doesn't seem fair). Does anyone know how to work around this situation. We're talking 6 months notice. No one should be penalized in this case, in my opinion. I can't seem to find a way to write directly to someone at Airbnb. Any suggestions? Thank you. - Anne

8 Replies 8
Jeff158
Level 10
Caernarfon, United Kingdom

Hi Anne and Kevin

So to put it in a nutshell, you have sold your B&B and want the new owners to take over your listing and bookings.