stars

Paula1000
Level 2
Warrensburg, NY

stars

So I have been hosting for going on 5 years . My question is for my first listing I have 188 reviews . Out of them I received 2 - 3 star reviews and 3-4star reviews all in 2019 or before. The rest of my stars have been 5 stars solid so why has my listing not changed from a 4.96 when I have received nothing but 5 stars for almost 2 years? when I called Air BnB they said it takes time hmmm. out of my three rentals I am at a 4.95 for my barn rental- a 4.96 for The Silver LINING cottage- and a 5.0 for the Cabin the Bluebirds Nest .

11 Replies 11
Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Paula1000 Mathematically, the more values you have in a set the less noticeable the change in the average - especially when rounding to two decimal places. It has nothing to do with what Airbnb customer service says, it has everything to do with math. 

you would think however with that many 5 stars since I would at least go up to 4.97

@Paula1000 And you could be very close but we do not know the third decimal place. Once you hit 4.965 your average will round over to 4.97.

Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Ute42,

Would you please share your math graphic which displays how many 5* ratings are required to overcome less star ratings?

@Emilia42 @Paula1000 

@Debra300 

Sorry but I couldn't find it. But I got something else for You, pls take a look:

https://community.withairbnb.com/t5/Host-Circle/Let-s-talk-about-search/m-p/1380698/highlight/true#M...

@Paula1000 @Anonymous @Branka-and-Silvia0 

John5097
Level 10
Charleston, SC