Help!!! With a difficult long term guest

Kimberly853
Level 2
High Point, NC

Help!!! With a difficult long term guest

So I am new to Airbnb hosting. I have a 1924 home that I have been restoring for a decade. It is about 85% done. I travel a lot for the summer and have stayed in Airbnb‘s for extensive amounts of money and not great accommodations. I decided that even though my house was not completed I could offer quality housing at a reduced rate. I planned to be gone the majority of the summer and decided to rent out three rooms long-term as work housing options. I think that one person is toxic in the entire house. He has been difficult since day one. I also feel that he is very vindictive and I’m concerned that if I call him out on the issues at hand  that he will do some thing much more damaging to my home out of spite. I feel extremely disrespected,  he is violating house rules, but he is here for another eight weeks, I have absolutely no idea how to handle him. 

25 Replies 25
Kelly149
Level 10
Austin, TX

As with all yucky things, leaving it alone rarely improves things. None of us can tell you what to do, but I can safely say that you should push yourself to do something. 

Thank you for your reply. I don’t need to push myself, I am pretty confrontational. I have no problem calling people out. I have been biting my tongue and grinding my teeth for days. But he could just let water run for days, or stop up my drains, things that could cost obscene amounts of money by the end of eight weeks. He washes his summer laundry on heavy duty to wash and dry just because he can.He is a very vindictive personality and definitely doesn’t like being told what to do by woman.So is it worth the risk that he could reek havoc in my home? I’m not dealing with a logical, rational, person.

Debra300
Level 10
Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

@Kimberly853,