I'm new to hosting and need some advice please

Answered!
Emsie3
Level 2
Langebaan, South Africa

I'm new to hosting and need some advice please

I received a booking from a guest that previously received a negative review. She booked two nights for 10 people. I'm hesitant to allow her although she gave me an explanation of what happened. Is it possible for me to contact the host that gave her the review? How? Or what else can I do to make sure these guest will respect my property?

10 Replies 10
Mike-And-Jane0
Top Contributor
England, United Kingdom

@Emsie3 2 nights for 10 guests screams trouble to me. I wouldn't bother contacting the previous host I would just decline/cancel the stay unless you live on your property.

Thank you for the advice; I appreciate it.

Kia272
Level 10
Takoma Park, MD

@Emsie3 You CAN contact the host that left the bad review if you want to. Just find the review, and click on the host's profile. You can either PM them (I think) or contact them through the listing- doing a booking inquiry- just make it clear what you're asking about, and that you're not looking to book. I did that once with a guest that had so-so reviews, and the host couldn't remember why a bad rating was given. But it is possible to make contact....

Emsie3
Level 2
Langebaan, South Africa

Thanks!

@Emsie3  I meant to tell you also that this happened to me once as well. I looked at the reviews the host left for others, and it became obvious to me that she was batsh#t crazy! She left good reviews for "good" guests and became absolutely unhinged when she left reviews for "bad" guests. Based on that, I ended up giving the guest in question the benefit of the doubt, and she turned out to be a great guest. Really, really nice. Followed all house rules, good communication, and left the cabin really neat and clean. It does just prove that there are two sides to a story, as @Ana2038 said.

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Kia272