Winter Release Q&A with Airbnb’s Christy Schrader

Winter Release Q&A session

Can't contact my guest

Answered!
Kelland1
Level 3
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France

Can't contact my guest

I'm very new to this; my first guests are at present in my second home, some 3 km away.  I had given my phone number to them but forgot to take theirs, neither do I have an email address.  They did not respond when I sent an email  via Airbnbshortly after their arrival. Yesterday I called there and left a letter asking them to either phone or email me regarding their check out tomorrow.  Nothing.

I find it very annoying that they are, in effect, ignoring me.  I decided against going back to bother them again as I need to get a good report from them  but I've no way of knowing if all is well and exactly what time I should be there to get the keys and check the house over.

Any advice anyone?

Thanks, Kelland

Top Answer

@Kelland1 Your listing specifies a checkout time of 11:00 AM. . It sounds like you offered some flexibility on the departure time in your letter to the guests, but if they didn't take you up on the personalized checkout process, it's fine to revert to a default. That would be:

- informing the guests via Airbnb that you will be arriving at 11 AM tomorrow to begin the changeover

- listing any instructions you have for how they are to leave the property, like cleaning or trash removal

- tell them where to deposit keys safely if they need to leave before you arrive