Guest phobia of geckos, nonstop messaging me

Sarah5206
Level 2
Surat Thani, Thailand

Guest phobia of geckos, nonstop messaging me

My listings are on a tropical island in Thailand. I’ve been hosting here for 5 years, and this week have had my first experience with a guest who is petrified of geckos (very small lizards with sticky feet who sometimes show up on ceilings and walls). It is a single woman who booked for 1 month. In her first night she messaged me that there is a big problem, there’s a lizard in her house. I went to look. Yes, in fact a 2 cm gecko on the ceiling of her porch. Personally I love the geckos because they eat mosquitoes. But I understand someone being afraid of them.

A few days later, she messaged me at 1045pm. She was scared of another gecko inside. I told her very nicely he’s your friend, he doesn’t want to go near you, etc. She proceeded to send 30 messages over the course of 5 minutes, freaking out. I happen to live just in front of this listing, so I went over with a net to try to catch the gecko, and ease her mind. The geckos are not in intimate places, like bed or toilet. They stay high up to catch other pests. 

Here is my dilemma: The human in me wants to make her as comfortable as possible and go over right away to help. The practical person in me says that is unsustainable. How often is she going to message late at night, and what about when I am traveling, or have my cohost who does not live nearby managing? This is a tropical island, the listings are at ground level, and spiders, geckos, the occasional flying beetles are unavoidable, even indoors, even in a 5 star hotel.

Does any host have experience with this? How to manage guest expectation of, and reaction to unavoidable tropical creatures? Thank you. 

6 Replies 6
Guy991
Level 10
Sintra, Portugal

Sawadeekap @Sarah5206,

Wait until she encounters another local resident on the islands of Thailand: a snake on her porch door.