Winter Release Q&A with Airbnb’s Christy Schrader

Winter Release Q&A session

Reviews

Taizz0
Level 2
Portland, OR

Reviews

Hi to everyone!
 I’ve been hosting for 13 years, and was wondering about AirBnb’s stated policy of soliciting reviews from guests who cancelled up to the same day the booking starts.  I would welcome understanding the following:
1.  What is there to review about the

—-cleanliness

—-location 

—value

—check- in

—overall experience 

if the guest never even checked in???

is AirBnb deliberately soliciting retaliatory reviews?

thanks in advance for any responses!

—-Taizz

9 Replies 9

Hi Taizz,

Airbnb can remove the review from the guest who never check in to the property. For reference, Guests and Hosts can also leave a review for certain reservations that are canceled on or after the day of check-in (12:00 AM in the listing's time zone). 

However, as per Airbnb policy, if a guest never arrived for their stay or Experience, or had to cancel due to circumstances unrelated to that stay or Experience, their review may be removed.

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/2673

I hope this helps.

All the best,

Upfish Management

Shelley159
Top Contributor
Stellenbosch, South Africa

Hi @Taizz0 

I don't recall ever being in this position where a guest who did not check in, gets a chance to review. To me it has looked like the moment the booking is officially canceled on the Airbnb system, neither party gets to review the other one. I assume it only happens if the booking is not officially canceled and the guest is not refunded?

Helen3
Top Contributor
Bristol, United Kingdom

No if the guest or host cancels on the same day as a guest is due to check in  a review can be left @Shelley159 

Ok - thanks to everyone who chimed in on this!

my actual question was:

if the guest  canceled before checking in ( even on the day they were supposed to check in):

what is there to review?????

how can they rate the 

—check-in

—cleanliness

—location