Guest soiled mattress and left a smell of smoke

Answered!

Guest soiled mattress and left a smell of smoke

I need help, I am a nursing student who decided to use part of my house as Airbnb and it has been one of my worst decisions. I had a guest who let a terrible smoke smell in my house, I had to pay $200 for a cleaning service/ odour removal. He also soiled my mattress to a place of no return, I called Airbnb immediately and told them I will be discarding the mattress and customer service said do that and make a claim. Now the mattress has been discarded, Airbnb is saying they will not pay for  a new mattress and I should instead have it cleaned and for the smoke smell  they are not going to pay for that either (I need to show them proof that the house smell of smoke, how can I possibly show pictures of smell😥). I could not leave a review for this guest because I was busy following up with Airbnb  and I saw he did similar things to other host so please be careful guys. My question is how do I show proof of smoke smell or is this all bs from Airbnb 

1 Best Answer
Cristina860
Level 4
Orcutt, CA

I'm sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with a guest. I recommend investing in 1-2 layers of mattress protection, including a zipping plastic liner that covers the entire mattress, and another mattress cover with elastic corners that lays on top of the first layer, but under the sheets. 

Have you considered asking the cleaning company who took care of the odor to write a receipt that explains their cleaning process? You will need photo proof of all the problems the guest caused, including the mattress.