Host Cancellation question

Answered!
Deoni0
Level 2
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa

Host Cancellation question

I host two airbnb properties - my apartment, which I have been hosting since 2017 and have superhost status for. 
My husband asked that I get our permanent property airbnb ready, this is the second booking, so we can rent it out over holidays.

We got a booking for 10 days, which is a month from now but we need to cancel due to very unfortunate circumstances. Will I lose superhost status on both properties if I cancel the booking of our home or only on the one I am having to cancel?

I worked so hard to get superhost status for my apartment and will be gutted to lose it. 

1 Best Answer

@Deoni0 Superhost criteria rate the host not the property so by cancelling you will lose this and it will not show against either property. It will take a year+ before you get the rating back if you cancel.

View Best Answer in original post

8 Replies 8
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Why do you need to cancel?

If your reason for cancelling meets Airbnb's exceptional circumstances policy for host to then you can provide evidence  and cancel penalty free. @Deoni0 

if not you will lose your. SH status .

Deoni0
Level 2

Our reasons doesn’t meet their exceptional circumstances, but it is bad enough for us to not being able to honour this booking, as much as it pains me.

My question though is concerning my other booking, which I am not cancelling and have super host status on, and if I would lose that if cancelling this ‘newly listed’ property. I have two properties, the one I am needing to cancel doesn’t have superhost status. But I am worried to lose it on the one I have been working at so faithfully for 6 years. 

@Deoni0 Superhost criteria rate the host not the property so by cancelling you will lose this and it will not show against either property. It will take a year+ before you get the rating back if you cancel.

Deoni0
Level 2

Hi Mike,