One Superhost's Lamentation, post COVID-19

Ryan63
Level 9
Packwood, WA

One Superhost's Lamentation, post COVID-19

I listed to Brian's address this afternoon.  I appreciate the efforts to make us whole, if only partially.  That said, he apologized in only the vaguest of terms, and didn't say nearly enough about how Airbnb would improve the host experience.   It's about so much more than COVID-19 for me. 

I've been hosting on Airbnb for just over three years.  In that time, Airbnb has featured us twice on their Instagram account, and once in their magazine.  We're Superhosts who have kicked over $100k to Airbnb in fees over those three years.  For the amount of money they take from my guests and me, not to mention the marketing value we've delivered for them, I felt I had a right to expect a substantially higher quality of service than what I actually received over the past year or so.  

Contacting the call center is brain damage.  There might be humans on the phone, but it sounds as if they've been too intensely programmed and coached on scripting to listen, think logically, or even emote in any but the most robotic ways.  I've all but given up on them--I'd rather just eat the $100-300 I might need to collect on a claim than suffer the long hold times, lack of follow up, and intense frustration of negotiating with a virtual robot.  Far from a source of support and help, they're a drain on my soul, from the front lines right up to the supervisors. 

The website and app are painfully slow, and the UI seems to get worse, not better.  These forums are chock full of gripes about this, but we never see improvements.  For several weeks, it's been completely impossible to just download an earnings statement for tax purposes.  The ice cream error message isn't cute anymore.