Day 21: Less Is More

Gillian166
Level 10
Hay Valley, Australia

Day 21: Less Is More

Gillian166_0-1671629824832.jpeg

Tis the season… for over indulging in delicious seasonal treats, tolerating family members and dealing with a lot of organisational stress. I’m lucky this year to only have 6 at my table for xmas, although I’m sad other family members are elsewhere it’s a relief to have a simple xmas after a very stressful year, and many years of hosting very large family gatherings., and to be honest I’m not even doing much planning ahead of time, dinner for 6 is not even remotely a challenge! If we make trifle, pecan pie and caramel tart (all my faves) who will eat all of that dessert? #happyfirstworldproblems But here’s the segue onto a personal philosophy I’ve been embracing for a few years now.

minimalism.

Whatever this conjures up for you (clean, nordic looking empty rooms, or cold sterile spaces devoid of personal knick knacks) I will say it’s not quite like that, you are allowed to have personal items! I have a lovely collection of vintage items that I use as decor, and in my house, books are allowed! Minimalism is more than just “throwing out stuff you don’t use”,  rather it’s a total philosophy for life. I call minimalism a “journey” because 1) it never ends (a little like weight loss, or addiction, or battling a mental health disorder) and 2) you’ll have slip ups, so knowing you are committed to this allows you to forgive yourself when you realise somehow you’ve accumulated another 12 coffee cups this year…