[Festival] Inviting the world in

Solveig0
Level 10
Lørslev, Denmark

[Festival] Inviting the world in

Quincy_0-1661860095412.png

We host in an old farmhouse in a tiny village in Northern Denmark. And when I say tiny, I mean tiny. 282 inhabitants at the last count. It’s as local countryside Denmark as you can get. Chickens, dog and hens, and a large garden with an old fruit orchard, maize labyrinth, and several kitchen gardens. It’s local, it’s rural, it’s countryside.

My background is international. I moved to Denmark from London, and before London I lived in Beirut, Dubai, Washington DC, Tokyo, Pisa, Aix-en-Provence, Zurich, Sana’a… Airbnb is for me a way of inviting the world in, of reconnecting with the world, giving my family a global outlook on things. I met my Danish husband in Japan, and while I work for a global tech company, my husband works with local farmers and is very much connected to everything going on around us and is at any time able to tell who got a new tractor, who’s cow ran away, and who’s farmhand is taking over which farm. 

As a family we have a motto to explore, learn and live a life of generosity. We love helping international guests connect with our local, and what better than Airbnb to help us with that?

We’ve had quite a few American groups and individuals stay with us to find their roots. Some turning so local that they knew the local café better than us (yes! Our tiny village has a café run by volunteers, lots of our guests visit!) and becoming Facebook friends with half the village. Its lovely to follow their quest to find new relatives, enabled by Facebook posts and connections.