Guest cancelled on first day of stay on Moderate cancellation policy

Natalie157
Level 2
Tulsa, OK

Guest cancelled on first day of stay on Moderate cancellation policy

Hello! I've been hosting for nearly 4 years and am a proud Superhost. I had guests booked for a 3-night stay, checking in on May 8, for their daughter's Master's grad ceremony. The morning of check-in, her husband called me to cancel. He said 2 of the guests, including his wife who booked, have bronchitis. She went to the doctor 2 days before but thought she could rally and make the trip. They waited until the absolute last minute to cancel. He even said he was still coming to town, but would find lodging elsewhere since he didn't need an entire house. My cancellation policy is "Moderate," which states, "Full refund 5 days prior to arrival." No "learn more" below like other cancellation policy options; it looks very black and white. I thought this meant that a guest has up until 5 days before check-in date to cancel and receive a full refund. Within that 5 day window, no refund would be issued. Apparently it does not.