How To Respectfully Ask a Host To Do a Photo Shoot

Mike2072
Level 2
New York, NY

How To Respectfully Ask a Host To Do a Photo Shoot

Hello Everyone,

I'm a professional photographer with over 5 years of experience in the hospitality space. I've worked with some of the top hotels in the world and now I'm looking to collaborate with some Airbnb properties!

I'll be launching a YouTube channel shortly that focuses on showcasing unique Airbnbs and accommodations.

I attempted to contact an Airbnb host to see if I could shoot a video at their property, but I'm still new to this and wasn't aware of Airbnb's terms of service. I included some links to my portfolio in the message so it was immediately flagged by Airbnb's systems and I received an email from Airbnb telling me to back off or my account would be suspended.

My question is simply- how do I go about contacting Airbnb hosts properly to set up these shoots? Just a simple- "I have a cool YouTube channel that showcases unique Airbnbs. I'd love to create a video for you" with no links?

I guess I'm a little frustrated because I've worked very hard to build up a strong work portfolio, but unfortunately I can't share any links to show that I'm a credible, professional photographer, and not some amateur film student who is going to trash someone's property. If I were the host...how would I be able to confirm that this guy reaching out to me is who he says he is..?

If any hosts are reading this- what has your experience been with hosting photo shoots? Are you totally against them? Do you work with some select people if it's a good fit?

The videos that I'll be creating aren't some commercial or other work project, but a video that will benefit an Airbnb host and their property directly.

I welcome any thoughts on this matter and if anyone has any ideas/experience in regards to the best way to approach hosts in a respectful manner to organize a shoot, please share.

Thanks all!

14 Replies 14
Sarah977
Level 10