How do I find someone to host my property

How do I find someone to host my property

Hi everyone, I’m new to hosting. We have recently bought a property in Edinburgh city centre and are planning to use it ourselves but also rent it out as our permanent home is about an hour away and we needed a place to stay when in the city for work. I’m wondering…how do you go about finding someone to be your host when you don’t yourself live in the city? I have seen some people I know who own properties and recently put them up on Airbnb but it appears to be hosted by someone else who has 7 years experience hosting. Thanks for your help!

8 Replies 8
Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Eliana264 

There are a lot of agencies here in London that provide these services so I am sure there must be some in Edinburgh.

If you don't want to go that route and would prefer to hire an individual, I would repost your thread with the title 'Looking for experienced co-host in Edinburgh' and ask people to DM you if they are interested. Then you can check out their profiles and reviews.

Thanks so much for this advice, will repost and see if I can find someone in Edinburgh 👍🏻

Flav656
Level 2
Southampton, United Kingdom

Hello @Eliana264, I am in a similar situation, and I was wondering whether you managed to find a host in that way? If so, what is/was your experience and would you recommend it? 

Fiona256
Level 10
Scotland, United Kingdom

If you're only an hour away, you could manage it yourself and do the changeovers. That way you are in control, you see what maintenance is required in good time, you're not relying on having to trust someone else who might not have a keen eye for detail and will not care to the same extent as the owner.