Instant Book

Laura5176
Level 2
New York, United States

Instant Book

Hi,

I am new to this.  I have instant book on as an option.  I do get nervous when there is someone without a review history.  Can I turn these people down?  Can I turn down someone who is not of legal age and wants to book.  I am in NY.  

6 Replies 6
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Laura5176  I don't use IB myself, never have, never will, but you have requirement options available for IB. Previous recommendations (reviews) from other hosts, verified ID uploaded to Airbnb, and a profile photo. You should check all those. No, you can't use an age restriction to IB.

If you are using Instant Book, you don't have the option to "turn someone down". That's the whole point of IB, that guests can book without host approval. 

You do have 3 free cancellations a year with IB, but you don't want to use those up unless you really feel you need to.

If you want to be able to communicate with guests and read any reviews they might have before accepting a booking from them, you need to turn off IB so you just get Inquiries and Requests.

IB is not the best idea, IMO, for new hosts until you get the hang of how everything works. 

M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Laura5176 

I have used Instabook since we went live in 2020.  To date, only 3 of 56ish guests were below my standards.  But they were just strange.  No bad reviews or issues.

IMO, make sure that you have EVERY  requirement checked.  For example, verified id, host recommended, etc..