Scammers

Answered!
Ivett84
Level 2
Malibu, CA

Scammers

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the hosting and I already had two fake/scammers.

How is it that they are verified and they still try to con people?!

Host watch out if you see:

1. Long term rental inquiry

2. First name and no last name

3. Message says "Hi/ Hello"

4. Asking "are you the landlord?"

5. Asking to communicate outside of airbnb platform  via cell, what's app, Google chat, etc.

6. Asking for video tour

7. Rude/defensive behavior

It is sad that we have to deal with con people!

1 Best Answer
Jamie957
Level 2
Indianapolis, IN

I am dealing with this exact situation now! They asked to see the property first! Then they asked that they call me to make sure I'm legit so I oblige and I even sent them a video of our property and they booked for almost a month and have done nothing but complain about everything and nothing at the same time. They've lied an brought in pets when pets are not allowed and then said our newly renovated property smells like animals then brought in extra people not reserved AND are smoking pot (which idc what People do but not in MY PLACE) I dont even allow cigarettes inside)  

They even have a kid inside there & they've even brought in bigger TVs , furniture  chairs, blankets and all kinds of stuff !?!

View Best Answer in original post

13 Replies 13
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Ivett84 

You can report the messages (especially what is related to item 5) to Airbnb (use the "flag" option).

Ivett84
Level 2
Malibu, CA

Thank you @Emiel1 . I have reported and also airbnb emailed me that they have removed the person.

Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Ivett84 Only getting a first name is normal as Airbnb it is less likely to discriminate if hosts are not given a full name at the point of inquiry.

The rest is just dodgy 

Ivett84
Level 2
Malibu, CA