Second thoughts about accepting a reservation

Answered!
Deb3203
Level 2
Canberra, Australia

Second thoughts about accepting a reservation

I am new to AirBnB. I have accepted the first request, from a guy whose ID is verified but has no reviews. As I'm female and my partner is away I'm feeling a bit vulnerable, my instinct is that I was too quick to accept and should only accept people with reviews. Any tips? Should I cancel as this early stage in my AirBnB hosting experience, or trust the identity verification? I couldn't find much on them doing a Google search. Not sure what to do! Any tips? 

1 Best Answer
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

I am a single female home-share host. I've never used Instant Book. I've accepted both male and female guests with no reviews and all the males have been respectful, good guys. I base my acceptance on how they communicate with me.

Unless you state that you only accept female guests, which you can do if you have a home-share, cancelling a guest just because they happen to be male and you are fearful really isn't okay. In that case, you should just block the days that your husband is away. So as mentioned by others, if you feel uncomfortable with this, and it was an Instant Book, you can cancel it saying you are uncomfortable, but then either change your listing to only accept female guests or turn off IB.

@Deb3203

14 Replies 14

@Deb3203  welcome on Airbnb.

"Any tips? "

Turn off instant booking to choose your travellers.
Close the days in your calendar when your partner is not around.
Put a locker to your room.

I am not sure that to turn on instant booking for a single woman offering a private room is the best idea of the year. 

Thanks Nathalie, putting a lock on the door is a good idea. Deb.

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada