Something went wrong. Please try again.

Trent75
Level 1
Buhl, ID

Something went wrong. Please try again.

I am brand new to Airbnb. Went to make my first reservation and thought everything was fine. The next day I noticed my reservation was cancelled. I asked the host if they cancelled and they said that it didn’t come from their end. I wrote support and they told me to try another property so I did and found out that it won’t let me try to reserve any property. I thought it was just a phone issue so I tried on my computer and it said that I am not able to reserve property. This is kind of disheartening because I’m running out of time for this family trip. Anyone had experience with this?

1 Reply 1
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Trent75  I don't know how old you are, or where you are trying to book, but Airbnb has an algorithm that was designed to cut down on these bad party scenes in Airbnb houses. It encompasses the guest being under 25, lives locally near the listing, is booking for only one or two nights, not far in advance, and probably one or two other things I'm forgetting. It blocks guests who fall into this algorithm from booking entire place listings.

Of course this is very unfair to good, responsible guests who just happen to fall into those parameters, and there has been a lot of push-back from hosts who feel they should be the ones to decide whether a guest booking is a risk or not.

So maybe this is why you are finding you can't book, or it could be something totally different, like some glitch in the system.