Unintentional booking cancellation

Unintentional booking cancellation

Airbnb does not protect their guests at all and have ridiculous policies to protect hosts. I booked a 3 week stay by accident and I only recieved 50 percent of my cash back (around 700 euros) after I requested cancellation within 1 MINUTE. It's ridiculous, I'm a student and I cannot risk to loose this amount of money. And Airbnb customer service are very much useless. I'm extremely disappointed in this company and how they run things and all their unjustified policies.

Is there something I can do? The host isn't replying at all and Airbnb representative says they have contacted the host and does not want to return a full refund.

49 Replies 49

@Mengen1  Everybody makes mistakes, but this sure is an odd one. Which part of your booking was a mistake -  was it the wrong destination, or the wrong dates? 

If you haven't completed the cancelation yet, it's still possible to request a booking change for, say, a shorter stay. But if you've already canceled, the host would have no obligation to respond to any further contact. 

I thought everyone had 48 hours for a penalty free cancellation where the guest gets back the full amount including fees?  Is this not the case for strict policies?

@Mark116 That 48 hour grace period only applies when the cancellation also happens to be 14 days or more before the check-in date. 

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Anonymous 

Yep, and right now it seems like there are a lot of ill thought out, last minute bookings going on. I've had to contact Airbnb several times in the past week about similar cases so that the guest could get a full refund.

It's time consuming and annoying, but I don't feel right about taking a guests money when there is a small time space between booking and the mistake being discovered, e.g. a few hours or a day. 

The last Airbnb rep I spoke to told me it's normal at the moment because people panic book during the holiday season.