"I am sensitive to color."

Laura2592
Level 10
Frederick, MD

"I am sensitive to color."

We have blocked most future dates on our calendar as we are thinking about selling and trying to make a plan. We do have one string of dates available in March. Booking has been slower than usual. I got an inquiry last night for a few of the available dates that said:

"Hi my name is X. I am interested in your space for a few days in the spring (gave blocked dates.) I wonder if they are available. I am a color sensitive. Do you have any bright or harsh colors anywhere in your cabin? Would it be possible to remove them during my stay? Thank you and I look forward to your reply."

We have had inquiries from smell sensitive folks, noise sensitive, light sensitive, but never someone who is color sensitive. As an amateur artist I think of myself as quite color sensitive, but its by no means debilitating. Has anyone else heard of such a thing? 

18 Replies 18
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

If dates aren't available the just say so . 

@Helen3 I did say so. I have just not heard of this particular sensitivity and wondered if others had. 

Karla533
Level 10
Santa Fe, NM

Well, FWIW in the Southwest some people decorate with bright colors and I avoid those places and certainly would never book an ABB or a hotel with too much bright color.

My listing has 40 photographs so people can screen themselves out and not bother me if they do not like the occasional spots of bright color I use in my decor.

@Karla533 I have quite a few photos as well so I am not sure if the guest thought maybe they were not accurate? Surely I do need to update a few in the kitchen and living space so that is a valid question. 

Rule 34, hosting version:  If it exists, there is a sensitivity or phobia to it. No exceptions.