[Guide] Set up your listing for people working from your Airbnb

Claudia331
Host Advisory Board Member
Lecco, Italy

[Guide] Set up your listing for people working from your Airbnb

Claudia331_0-1678290263224.png

"Wherever I am, I live"

Dear Hosts,

Have you as well used the pandemic time to rethink your home: the spaces you host in, who else would you have liked to host and so on?

We all stopped, making it a memorable event. Many of us have tried to look forward and to prepare for the many opportunities ahead. 

Following a stream that has been growing, I started to look at a target group that was new to me: the remote workers.

I delved a little deeper into a phenomenon that was already there, but since I had the opportunity, I studied more closely the needs and habits of this mobile population. 

I discovered that there are many of them in the world. An estimated 10% to 12% of the total workforce (around 500 million workers) and that working remotely is more sustainable (and here my heart expanded: I love talking about sustainability). In fact, working from home 4 days a week reduces traffic pollution by up to 10%, saves a global 247 trillion sheets of paper each year and generates a 67% decrease in corporate waste production (npj data, owl labs).

Today, more than 16% of companies worldwide allow their workers to work remotely, including Airbnb. 

But letโ€™s go back to my accommodation: I first replaced some old IKEA furniture (sideboard and sofa) with two console tables that I got from a couple of local craftsmen (a carpenter and an iron artist). They are flexible pieces of furniture that, depending on the occasion, the light, and the type of work to be done, can be repositioned at will. Joined together they create a large area.