Do you let them stay during the day?

Sarah315
Level 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom

Do you let them stay during the day?

Hello All

Interested in your thoughts or usual practice on this one - I've been doing AirBNB for around 10 months now continuously while not working and at home most of the time, with about 40 bookings completed.  I'll be working again soon and plan to honour the AirBNB bookings I already have.  Some bookings (mainly longer term ones of 5 days or more, say) stay at home during the day - hanging out in the kitchen or their room.  Is this a practice you experience or are happy with, or do you expect people to leave in the morning and return in the evening - as the name suggests?  If it's usual that they leave or you expect this, I'd find your advice and tips on how to be clear about this, yet pleasant (!) really helpful!

Thanks in advance! 

19 Replies 19
Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA

The short answer:  YES, OF COURSE!  You can't lock them out!

This previous post might help:  https://community.airbnb.com/t5/Community-Help/Do-private-room-renters-get-keys-to-the-front-door/m-...

Hilary-And-Ed0
Level 10
Brookline, MA

I have thought about this too, although I am still new and it has not come up yet.  I do not feel that I could prevent people hanging around.  However, when I am communicating with people prior to their booking, I have made sure that they are coming to this area for a reason (tourist, children graduating from college, professional conference, medical rotation), language course.  That way I have been able to ensure that people tend to be busy during the day. 

So I guess the best you could do is screen for their purpose for being in the area.

Some people provide absolutely  the least amount of details about WHY they are coming. Its a bit frustrating, but they stay for two days and it goes by fast.