Airbnb added fee to cleaning fee

Dan-and-Erin0
Level 2
Honolulu, HI

Airbnb added fee to cleaning fee

Hi, I just had a guest tell me that their potential reservation total included a $107 cleaning fee, while my listing clearly states an $80 cleaning fee. Is this a new area that Airbnb has tacked on additional fees to guests? Potential guest decided to use points to book Marriot instead. Their reservation for 3 nights came out to over $54/night extra than my per night listing (cleaning fee accounted separately), and exactly $175 more total than my listed payout, for only 3 nights (I calculated slightly differently the per night and total so it's not exact, my apologies). That seems excessive to me. I've been listing on Airbnb for near 5 yrs and it seems the fees have become excessive. I can't find anything that says Airbnb now adds a fee to the cleaning fee. 

10 Replies 10
Lawrene0
Level 10
Florence, Canada

Were they Canadians by any chance, @Dan-and-Erin0 ? $80 USD is $107 CAD right now...

Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Lawrene0 

The listing shows exactly what you are saying, when changing currency.

yes, that was it. Thank you! 

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Dan-and-Erin0  As far as I'm aware, Airbnb does tack on a service fee to the cleaning fee (which is obnoxiously greedy). And like Lawrene says, they may be seeing the amounts in Canadian $s.

Alon1
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Sarah977 

re. 'service fee to the cleaning fee'.

It's not clear to me what you mean?

Do you mean just the regular means of calculating service fee?

If so, it's hard to draw a distinction between Hosts who set a separate cleaning fee and those that sublimate it into their nightly prices! 

I expect it's a similar situation to websites that charge service fee exclusively to Host, whence I expect the Host price is higher than on Airbnb where Guest pays the larger part of the s.f.