Are You Allowed to Use Long-Term Airbnb Booking as Residence to Satisfy "New Jersey First?"

Alexander857
Level 2
Kutztown, PA

Are You Allowed to Use Long-Term Airbnb Booking as Residence to Satisfy "New Jersey First?"

I am an Education student graduating from a Pennsylvania university in December of 2020, always having lived in that state. I am possibly interested in teaching or taking a support role in academia in the State of New Jersey. New Jersey has a rule called the "New Jersey First Act" stating that you must move to the state within a year after taking a public sector job to be able to keep it permanently. If I do not have enough money to afford an actual apartment, would I be allowed to declare my residence to be an Airbnb booking if I was staying there long-term? Would I have to ask the person I am booking from or can I just start using it as my address? The booking would ideally be 6 months to a year until the job payments kicked in, but I wouldn't be against staying up to 2 years if the booking owner was agreeable to a renewal and I need more time to save more money. I would aim not to have anything mailed there unless absolutely necessary (would get all bills/statements emailed) and even when I needed to, I would follow whatever rules I would be provided by the owner. I would not have any secret residences outside of the state--my idea would be to use that as my sole residence until the end of the Airbnb booking. 

The reason I am thinking about this now is because I am very meticulous and everything related to this on the internet didn't exactly fit my situation.

2 Replies 2
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico