Help!!! I am new to hosting and I have guests breaking every rule

Help!!! I am new to hosting and I have guests breaking every rule

I had a same day check in request from a lady with her 6 year old daughter. She told me she needed the place ASAP. I worked to get the house ready for her but she didn’t show up. She showed up the next day and shortly after another woman with her child joined them without any prior notification to us. The kids were creating a ruckus, we could hear them jumping on the furniture  and running around. The ladies got really drunk, came to our driveway and started harassing my husband to get a TV ASAP as they werw not able to handle their kids. They were very loud. She asked me for extra blankets and when I told her the place is for 2 people and there is enough for 2 she started getting rude saying they are just visiting them. What do I do?

13 Replies 13
Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Sarah4304 

Sorry this has happened to you so early on in your hosting experience. The guests sound like a nightmare.

What you do depends somewhat on the outcome you want. In either scenario, remain polite and calm, but firm.

1. The guest is not going to be there much longer and you would rather continue with the reservation. In that case, I would remind her that the place is for maximum two people, and overnight visitors are not allowed as clearly stated on your listing. Give her a time that the visitors must leave by in order for her to not be charged for the additional people. I would remind her also that the listing clearly states there is no TV and sorry, but you can't provide one. 

2. The guest has booked a longer stay/you just want her and her entourage gone. In this case, I would do the same as above but tell her that you cannot have additional guests staying, so her visitors must either leave by X time, or she will need to find another place to stay.