Host Advice, Sofa Damage

William1697
Level 2
Atlanta, GA

Host Advice, Sofa Damage

Hello, I'm fairly new to hosting.

I dont feel like my place was respected by my first guest (4 people total)

The back door was left slightly open so anyone could look through the screen door, bugs, etc. (Against my house rules and checkout instructions)

Burn stains on my sofa slipcover. And pillows all over the floor.

Should I report the burn stain damage to Airbnb and give a bad review, or bite it and just move on?

4 Replies 4
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

Welcome to this platform and this community forum.  You have a very well appointed listing.  You are wondering how to respond to some guest behavior and damage.  Guests often do not follow the rules of a listing.  You have to decide if the rule breaking is worth mentioning in your review and whether you would host them again and recommend the guest to other hosts.  That is all you will get for rule breaking.  As to damage, you must follow the protocols as outlined in the Help Center articles about making a damage claim, which in your case are burn stains.  Because the damage claim process requires you to contact the guest first to advise of the damage and the cost associated with your claim, and you must do that before any other guests arrive, you will more than like trigger a negative review as your first review.  Is the cost of the damage worth doing that?  If so, then by all means go for it.  If not, then allow some damage costs to be included in your budget.  Then wait until the end of the review period, 14 days after check out, to write a negative review about the guest behavior.

Often damage is as a result of accidents that are innocent and the guests conduct themselves beautifully otherwise.  I use the private message part of the review process to address my concerns so the guest can gain from my feedback.