Long term guests

Diana294
Level 1
Victoria, Canada

Long term guests

Hi. I'm new to airbnb. Normally, during the fall and winter months, we rent our furnished suite to students. I have just had my first airbnb guests this weekend and have just had an inquiry from somebody who would like to book for a month-and-a-half. Normally, I offer a continental breakfast, but the person who has inquired is coming to our city to take a job, so I thought I might discount the price if he forgoes the breakfast. However. I don't understand the insurance implications for having a long term guest. Normally, with my tenants, I require they have tenant's insurance, but this isn't really a tenant so much as a guest. Any thoughts from anyone? I would like to offer this person the place – his references look really good, but I don't want to cause a bunch of trouble or get myself in trouble. I need to reply to him. 

4 Replies 4
Scott80
Level 10
Honolulu, HI

I doubt that AirBnB would enforce requiring someone to have tenant's insurance. Also, I don't think an insurance company would write a policy for less than a year. What you could do would be to get landlord's insurance to supplement AirBnB's coverage and include the cost of that insurance in your nightly rate. AirBnB also provides liability insurance for hosts, here is the page about it: https://www.airbnb.com/host-protection-insurance You can also collect a deposit to help cover accidents that occur during a reservation and the host guarantee to protect hosts against damages to their own possessions or unit in the rare instance of property damage by their guests in listings.

Hi, Scott. 

Thank you so much for your prompt reply. My issue is that I'm in Canada, and my insurance company will not cover damages by tenants at all. The law here requires tenants to have insurance. Given that I mostly deal with students, their parents usually subscribe to a rider on their own insurance policies to cover this. 

It's a puzzle for sure.