What if someone other than the guest shows up at my home?

Tammy91
Level 5
Missouri City, TX

What if someone other than the guest shows up at my home?

I enabled Instant Book along with government ID required for verification. I am new to this....just started 1st week of Feb.....but have plenty of bookings right now. There is one booking that concerns me at the moment.....just my gut instinct. Although one of my rules is no 3rd party bookings, what if someone other than the member shows up instead?

7 Replies 7

@Tammy91 if someone other than the booking guest shows up, you are free to refuse them entry.

After all, the person at the door has no arrangement with you.

At that point, you should probably contact AirBnB and let them know what is going on.

Tammy91
Level 5
Missouri City, TX

@Matthew285, thank you so much!!! I have another question now. Someone just IB and their story sounds fine to me. But.....there is no profile picture. I thought to get verified, a member needed to post a profile pic. How do I know who I'm dealing with? I asked her if she wouldn't mind posting a profile pic...hope that was appropriate. 

@Tammy91, AirBnB *claims* to require a profile pic to become a verified member.

The fact that I have received bookings from what appears to be a potted plant indicates otherwise.

You are free to ask the member to provide an actual photograph of themselves. If the person refuses, you can contact AirBnB support and tell them you are not comfortable with the IB if the guest refuses to provide the required photo. They may reach out to the guest and ask them to provide a picture (or not). But either way, AirBnB can cancel the booking for you without penalty if you tell them you don't want a photo-less guest.