Adjoining room - guest reserve/confirmed rooms separately not adjoining listing

Adjoining room - guest reserve/confirmed rooms separately not adjoining listing

Hi, 

I'm really new at this and excited to join this hosting community!

I just posted my first listings for 2 separate rooms and another listing for both rooms since they are adjoining rooms. I gave the adjoining room listing a small break on the price too. My first reservation less than 24 hrs of my listing going live was by a guest who reserved (and automatically confirmed) both single room listings instead of choosing the adjoining room listing.

I feel badly about charging her the higher price of individual rooms but, since she's already confirmed, I don't know what to do. I don't want to incur additional fees by AirBNB for a rebooking is she cancels and rebooks the adjoining room instead. What's the most customer friendly way to handle this? Give her a chargeback after her stay? Advise her to cancel and rebook and just accept the double charge I get from AirBNB? 

PS: I'm going to add a note in each single room about the adjoining room option so this hopefully this won't happen again. 

Thanks!

Christine

14 Replies 14
Ian-And-Anne-Marie0
Level 10
Kendal, United Kingdom

@Christine1844 

Your guests are happy with what they paid so happy days. You will in time have this gain taken off you in other ways without a blink of compassion so bank the money, this will lighten the load for those times.

@Christine1844  So the host is trying to do the right thing by this guest and you're advising him to be greedy instead?  

@Sarah977 

I think your reply was to me but made to @Christine1844  (her) instead?

Everyone can make mistakes. I make them all the time... especially when Anne-Marie sends me shopping. You know, everything is all there clearly labelled with full descriptions and the buyer has the full choice and responsibility of what to buy.