Filthy kitchen From previous well review guests

David64
Level 4
Yarmouth, ME

Filthy kitchen From previous well review guests

I have been hosting for several years now. It has been a great experience. I just had another young couple staying in my newest listing who completely trashed the kitchen. Filthy beyond belief. It’s as if they are trying to make as much a mess as possible. Every pot and pan with burned on food. Counters covered in food and grease dishes and silverware covered with dried on food. There is a dishwasher that they ran with 1 cutting board in it and that’s it. The first time this happened I contacted Airbnb and they helped me resolve the problem after I had spent 2 hours cleaning the kitchen. This time I followed their lead in dealing with the guests. I am wondering if this is a trend with younger guests?  They seem completely unaware of what’s wrong with it. They both had great reviews from previous hosts. They will not be getting one from me to save future hosts from these filthy guests.

13 Replies 13
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

I look at a great number of posts from hosts who are reluctant to give negative reviews, @David64  so I hope you will give a thumbs down review to these guests.  Air BNB is promoting Instant Booking and the only way for hosts to be "safe" is if other hosts will provide honest reviews.  

I don't know if there is a "trend" about "younger" guests, but I do understand the popularity of Air BNB has increased with all the marketing so the odds of getting a guest that just doesn't get is increased.  

I think people who would have booked at Motel 6, think they can get better accommodations through Air BNB, which they can, but they have a Motel 6 mentality.  Sorry Motel 6, but price driven bookings are often disappointing to the host who is just trying to offer a good value to respectful people.   Maybe you should raise your rate!

Fred13
Level 10
Placencia, Belize