How much do I pay my cleaning person?

Donna1249
Level 2
Deruyter, NY

How much do I pay my cleaning person?

Hello,

I am new to hosting and am trying to determine a fair amount to pay a cleaning person to clean our place. It is a small camp, 1 BR, 1 Bath, about 700 sq. ft not including the basement which probably won't need to be cleaned. We are limiting the # of guests to 4 (currently have 2-3 for most reservations). My neighbor has offered to clean for me as we live 3 hours away. I would actually prefer to do it myself but it just wouldn't make sense given the distance and current price of gas! She will also be doing a small load of laundry. The camp is located in Indian Lake, NY. I checked through a service like Angie's List just to get some ideas and they would charge me $86 to clean on a weekly basis, not including laundry. Does this sound reasonable? Do most cleaners charge per hour? I'm guessing some jobs will be easier than others, so it might make sense to offer to pay per hour versus a flat fee? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Donna 

17 Replies 17
Annie1372
Level 10
Montreal, Canada

@Donna1249 

I love the look of your rustic cabin 

For your question, it is so hard to say as it depends on each specific location and availability of staff.

For me, trust in a cleaning person worths a lot of money for my precious house.

i would prefer to pay a bit more and having a trustworthy person cleaning my house and especially great to report any breakage specifically and all other issues, small or big.

Dealing with family members or neighbours can be tricky as if there is an issue; a guest stating that you cabin was not spotless or even yourself noticing some miss spot in the cleaning. How confortable would you be to tell that person.

and if the situation repeats, how would you fell towards that person ?