How "smart pricing" is becoming less and less smart!!

Tania-and-Andrew0
Level 10
Cancún, Mexico

How "smart pricing" is becoming less and less smart!!

Hello all,

I have been hosting for over 3 years now and I have been up for any change and new things Airbnb has brought to us but I think smart-pricing is getting a bit out of hand. It needs to be way "smarter".

My listing is in Cancun downtown, while it's not in the Hotel Zone (Beach areas) it is but 5 minutes from the first beach (by bus) and a couple of blocks away from the bus stop to go to the beach, a block from the best up and comings restaurants and 2 blocks from the general bus station to go anywhere in the Yucatan Peninsula.

I have been with smart pricing ever since it came out but I have noticed more and more that it always displays the minimum price and it never, ever, goes up. My price is insanely low regarding all I offer. I had base price of 17 USD per night (for 1 person or 22 for two). It keeps suggesting me to go as low as 12 USD per night IN CANCUN, in a HOUSE with a pool, breakfast and easy access to all of what Cancun has to offer.

I have turned off Smart Pricing and I have noticed how Airbnb has penalized me as I have received fewer and fewers inquiries and requests. I really think that the room I offer is worth much more than 12 USD. At some point, the calendar is suggesting me to go as low as 10 USD per night. When a hostel half a block from my home (with 8 beds per room) is charging 30 USD per bed per night.

I would really love to hear fromo ther hosts and now if this is affecting you too or if in your area the Smart Pricing is suggesting insane low prices.

Thanks!!

2 Replies 2
Louise231
Level 10
Manchester, United Kingdom

Yeah agree,

My personal favorite is when I have smart pricing turned on, my min price is £37, it sets the price as £42, then gives me a 'suggestion' that I'm too high and should set the price as £37???