Instincts in Salt Lake City A potential guest new to airbnb - not a right fit

Harper0
Level 1
Salt Lake City, UT

Instincts in Salt Lake City A potential guest new to airbnb - not a right fit

Hello! This is my first time posting in the community. 

I have loved being an Airbnb Host in Washington D.C. and now in Utah. And, I got the hang of being discerning. There now seems to be many many (as a former great guest said "the masses are joining") new timers.

Yesterday I received a request from someone new to airbnb, they explained they were using their father's business airbnb account, but the profile name was of the town they were from in Turkey, he was also raised in Utah, and wanted to stay with us for 4 nights. He also didn't have an accurate profile photo up. 

So, because he didn't have the correct name or profile photo up, I was cheerful and positive, and just asked for that update. He wrote me this long and upsetting email about not having time for this, and that he was on the road, and doesn't have time to waste sitting in front of a computer all day. The second email then explained why he was upset and that he made the changes. Because of the first lengthy email vent, I really thought it was best that he start anew with a new host, with his proper profile account. My boyfriend raised the point that if he is quick to temper, the last thing you want is someone in your home for four days when something doesn't suit their standards. 

A big thing is that if someone doesn't have a review from another host - I want to be a little more discerning.

I wrote a polite email back. He then just wrote me again about how I lost a great customer and how there are hundreds of places in Salt Lake City that are better than yours, and wow a rather nasty tone, - I am so so so glad I followed my instincts. 

But then, I sort of want to warn other hosts. I wonder how hosts can share with other hosts and give them a heads up.