Intentional cancellation by the guest

Ashley-Malei0
Level 2
Seoul, South Korea

Intentional cancellation by the guest

Hello,

I have been running the airbnb in different places for five years. There was some intervals that I did not run.

During those years, I was away from the list, out of the country, where only the guests were staying.

In the past several weeks, I have got the suspicious guests who repeat the same type of behavior.

I am out of the country; and  they are the only one from the list's country who call me in the morning; given that they can see my local number from the airbnb.

They are all rude, and do not answer first. They wait until I answer in their own local language. Then, they ask me the basic questions which the usual guests do not need to call internationally and ask. It is the questions are repetitive on the messages. 

The list's has the front door only with the passcode. That is the important instruction that I need to "TEACH" and make sure that the guest knows. Therefore, I tell them twice on my airbnb messages.

Even that, the first question from them is to know the code; and they cancel.

The one guest did that; and I was worried about the security of the list because I could not change the passcode abroad. Therefore, there was the additional hassle to secure the place; asking the other guest in the list whether he saw the one who cancelled came into the list or not.

The next guest did the same thing; but more hasty way. He called me, asked two questions about the passcode and which floor it is; and said he wants to cancel it.

After the first experience about the cancellation on arrival; I changed my policy of cancellation from "flexible" to "strict". However, I did not fully understand the details; therefore, I misinformed the guest that he cannot cancel on the day of arrival under the "strict" policy. And I notified that I changed the cancellation policy.