New host: Payouts held for 30 days?

Krista37
Level 1
Lodi, NJ

New host: Payouts held for 30 days?

Hello,

I'm new to hosting and my first guest just checked out. I don't see any payouts pending so I called support and was told the payout will be held for 30 days. I didn't see this information anywhere when I signed up; is it a new thing? What's the reason for it? I have upcoming reservations and am a bit nervous about receiving payment. Can anyone shed some light?

9 Replies 9
Munya0
Level 2
Arlington, VA

You shoud get the payment on the next day after the guest check in. Thanks

Amy313
Level 2
Cold Spring, NY

Hi Krista,

I'm getting the same. It appears this applies to new Airbnb hosts only. I am a superhost on a completely seprate account and I do not remember this policy being in place before.

I have had about 10 groups stay since I started my new account. I was not aware I would have to wait 30 days for any money to be transfered to my bank account. 

If anyone can explain why this 30-day waiting period is the policy, that would be very helpful. It's an unpleasant surprise for new hosts who have incurred pretty heavy expenses. Seems very wrong.

Manuela235
Level 2
San Fernando, Nicaragua

I am a new host on airbnb and am really not feeling any of the "LOVE" or heart shown on their airbnb symbol for support or by their support staff....no honest replies to my payout questions. 
Multiple emails and lenghty waits on phone calls - multiple robot calls from airbnb that hang up on me ............this is not customer service !!!  
Frustration !! 
They cited the policy to me but refuse to explain when it was instated and why I was not notified immediately when I signed up to airbnb!
I have evidence of 3 other recent new hosts to airbnb being paid in a few days or 15 days after their FIRST reservation as a new host. 
SO the policy is FLEXIBLE AND RANDOM ! RIDICULOUS IS THE CORRECT WORD !
Here is how their policy reads: