Retaliatory Reviews

Aideen1
Level 5
Cambridge, MA

Retaliatory Reviews

I have been hosting longer term stays on AirBnb for several years, and have generally had great experiences. Since most of my guest stay for several weeks to a few months, it takes me along time to accumulate reviews, so they are really important to me.

I recently stayed in an AirBnb as a guest, and had my first negative experience, and I had to contact AirBnb support for help. AirBnb support agreed that the situation was unacceptable and arranged a refund, but I was shocked to find that they did nothing to prevent my disgruntled host from leaving a negative review that contained misleading and false information in retaliation for being found at fault. I'm currently still trying to get the review removed, because I do think it violates AirBnb's very vague review policy, but it made me realize that as both a host and guest, I have to choose between reaching out to AirBnb to help if a problem arises at the risk of getting a retalitory review, and staying silent. I think that AirBnb needs to update its policy to specifically prevent people from leaving retalitory reviews if they have been found breaking the rules.

I made a post about this on Host Voice, and I'd really appreciate it if anyone who agrees would give it a thumbs up: https://community.withairbnb.com/t5/Host-Voice/Prevent-guests-hosts-who-were-found-at-fault-in-an-Ai...

Also, I would love to hear from anyone who might have had similar experiences, either as a guest or a host. Were you able to get the review removed? Do you feel like writing a "review response" actually helped the situtation? 

7 Replies 7
Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Aideen1 I have not been in your position. It sounds like it's a really unfortunate situation, and the stay that led to the review sounds like a bad experience.

I do have some thoughts to hopefully cheer you up about the situation: