What to do when a guest books non-refundable and now wants a refund

Craig666
Level 2
Lewisville, TX

What to do when a guest books non-refundable and now wants a refund

I had a guest book recently, and they selected the non-refundable option to get the discount.  Now they are saying they booked the wrong day (and the day they want is not available at my property), so they are asking for a full refund.  I am not inclined to refund her, because we offer a non-refundable option and a fully flexible cancellation policy - but I assume she wanted the discount.  I am not unsympathetic, but my understanding is that the non-refundable option is there to protect the host from lost income when people cancel all willy nilly?

I am relatively new to hosting and haven't run into this scenario before.  Can the guest leave a bad review if I opt to not refund her?  

What do y'all do in these situations?

11 Replies 11
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Craig666  Has the guest cancelled? They need to do that and tell them that when they cancel, the dates that they booked will then be available on your calendar to be rebooked. Tell the guest that if you can rebook any of those dates, you will refund her for those.

You have a non-refundable policy for a reason and you should stand by it.

That said, guests almost always think they should get a full refund, no matter what cancellation policy they agreed to. And I have read posts where Airbnb refunded guests anyway, overriding the non-refundable option, so I don't happen to think that that option is of any benefit to hosts and I would never choose to use it.

A guest can only leave a review if the cancellation is done within 24 hours of check-in.

J-Renato0
Level 10
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

@Craig666 

I have always had the strict policy on. It is slightly different from your settings.

In general, I would not refund! I take very serious any Airbnb booking.  Guest´s are supposed to take it very seriouly as well.