Screening Questions?

Denelle1
Level 2
Victoria, Canada

Screening Questions?

I'm brand new to Airbnb and I've had a couple of requests from people with no Airbnb history - 0 reviews. Today I have one from someone that joined only yesterday and has no reviews. The person didn't send a message or anything, just a request to book for a month! They also only have one verification (not sure which one or what that means really). Any advice on how to deal with these situations?

Also, when people send an inquiry it seems that I have to decline their request. It has happened where I respond to the person's question but then they don't respond back - so the only option is for me to invite them to stay or decline. Since I haven't screened at all in this situation I don't want to invite them to stay - so I decline. But what reason should I use?

Thank you so much 🙂

3 Replies 3
Normen0
Level 10
Canada

@Denelle1  Firstly, do not decline any inquiries if you don’t want to take that person.   You are not required to accept or decline them.  You are only required to respond to maintain your response percentage.  Answer the questions promptly and send your own questions to them. If they don’t respond, just leave it alone. They haven’t given you the information to make a decision.  

As far as newbies to AIRBNB, we often feel negatively towards new accounts because - yes, there are scammers out there and partiers and the like. Remember everyone was new once, so don’t make that the deciding factor for declining a stay. It’s a small consideration to take into account with everything else.  

It’s a bit of training on the host’s part with some people about communication. Some act like they are booking a hotel. They just assume they will automatically book it, no questions asked. 

If they have a verification, it means their ID or email or phone has been verified. That’s a good thing.  But yes, no reviews is a negative.