Guests bargain like my apartment worths nothing

Guests bargain like my apartment worths nothing

Excuse me hosts, I am quite new to business and would like to ask for suggestions.

I have a guest asking check in at 7am and check out at night time.

she asks for discount immediately as she states, ‘I don’t stay for that 2 nights and I am paying for it.’

I offered: free airport pick up and drop off 

OK, not enough for her.

she is not happy.

Then I offered check out day for free 

means: she would need to book 11 nights instead of 12 nights.

OK, not enough.

she get back and ask they are 8 ppl and only want to pay 6 ppl.

PS: she is a host herself 

I personally feel very uncomfortable and not sure what to do.

thank you and welcome all suggestions

3 Replies 3
Joelle43
Top Contributor
Cannes, France

Oh my @Cheng-Hsuan1 - you are having a rough start to hosting and I'm sorry about that.  I've lost sight of the number of red flags that this "guest" is throwing up.  Coming from a host that is particularly harsh as they know only too well that you need good reviews.

Have you confirmed this reservation or is it maybe just an enquiry?  Hopefully it's just an enquiry and we can help you reply to this person.  It's an enquiry if you see a "pre-approval" sign.

I can quite understand why you are feeling uncomfortable as you're probably feeling that this guest is probably not a good fit for your place.  

If they have stated that there are 8 people but only want to declare/pay for 6 this is breaking your house rules and Airbnb rules so this alone is grounds for not accepting this reservation.  Is there a tourist tax to pay?

Thank you @Joelle43 that was an enquiry. We cannot agree on the last thing, paying 6 ppl instead of 8 ppl, the conversation is freezed.

I am not sure if this is normal in Airbnb for guests to ask for freebie like this? so I ask for some suggestions. 
Thank you for supporting me!

Hi again @Cheng-Hsuan1