Need help with guest who showed up with 3 large dogs, I have a no pets policy

Need help with guest who showed up with 3 large dogs, I have a no pets policy

Hello Community,

I need some help here...... I have been hosting for 4 yrs now and have not encountered this situation before...

I had a guest book/ check in same day yesterday with no mention of pets.  I have a no pets policy on my rental. They showed up with 3 large dogs ( German Shepards). I also live on my property, my rental is connected with 1 common wall. The rental has it's own parking and separate entry so I rarely see/interact with guests. I noticed the dogs on leashes last night in my back yard, so I went over to confront the guests. They claim they did not know about the no pets policy, and that they were keeping them in their pickup truck during their stay, and walking them on leashes the whole time. I asked why they did not ask/mention bringing the dogs and they said because they were not having them in the house at all. Still I say I have a no pets policy!  I let them know if there was any damage whatsoever, that I will be reporting it. 

I have no idea what to do here, what are my rights? They are clearly breaking the rules! 

2 Replies 2
Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Tiffany-And-Andrew0 

Hi Guys, unfortunately Airbnb are simply a conduit, a go between for guest and host, they put the two in touch with each other but have very little involvement beyond that when it comes to house rules and disputes. 

All they will say to the guest if you lodge a complaint is ...."If it's not too much trouble please respect the hosts pets house rule!" and they will leave it up to you as to what action to take.