New Airbnb host seeking advice on managing unfinished outdoor work

Danielle1765
Level 2
Lawrencetown, Canada

New Airbnb host seeking advice on managing unfinished outdoor work

Hi, my name is Danielle; I was born & raised in Quebec but have been in Nova Scotia since 1986. My partner & I owned a campground from 2010 to 2016 so we do have some experience with hosting people however I'm new at hosting AirBnB & a bit stressed about the whole thing as the space is ready to welcome guests but the outdoor work is not finished yet & I'm afraid it will be a negative on the reviews. Anybody else have had similar situations?
Hopefully guests realize that Rome wasn't built in one day & forgive the small inconveniences... 
Thanks for listening!

[Tittle updated by OCM]

8 Replies 8
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Danielle1765 Communication is key. I would warn the guests that it is taking longer than anticipated and offer them a full refund if they wish to cancel. Also ensure they know if work will or will not continue during their stay.

We had one guest stay when the ceiling had been soaked in a flood from the upstairs apartment and the folks staying didn't mind at all what it looked like and we still got a 5 star review. I think the offer of a cancellation goes a long way and is unlikely to be taken up.

Hi @Mike-And-Jane0 

I currently have no booking but I want to be proactive with future guests. Thanks for for the input; I agree with communication being key, I just know that sometimes expectations are hard to manage.

Thanks for for the input!

Shelley159
Level 10
Stellenbosch, South Africa

@Danielle1765 

I agree with @Mike-And-Jane0