Another Covid-19 Cancellation under Strict Policy

David8430
Level 2
New York, NY

Another Covid-19 Cancellation under Strict Policy

464B238B-05B9-42E5-93BA-D1014B9F16CA.jpeg

I had two guests booked two weeks out for New Years. Three days before check in, the guest messages me requesting a cancellation because he is sick with covid. I have a strict cancellation policy and responded by informing him of his agreement to that policy and wishing him a swift recovery.

Now this is only my third guest ever and I was worried I would get slapped with the loss on this due to extenuating circumstances policies. I tried my best to inform Airbnb of this and I also conveyed my concern at the easiness as which bad faith actors can use this as a get out of their agreement free card. (I am a professional graphic designer and proof can be EASILY forged). What shocked me most is Airbnb included not only *proof* of a positive covid test result sufficient, but also just exposure. 

In the end I am out over a thousand dollars and my risk of loss using this platform is at 45% when I factor in the revenue from my previous two listings. What is your risk of loss while hosting on this platform during Covid, and what avenues have you found to mitigate that risk?

10 Replies 10
Mike-And-Jane0
Top Contributor
England, United Kingdom

@David8430 we are out about 10% of our yearly revenue. We probably face a similar risk going forward. For us it was a combination of guest cancellations for Covid and us cancelling due to daughter's Covid. Feels not as bad as it could have been given the far worse, non monetary effects of the pandemic others have suffered.

Yes an important reminder, it could be worse.

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@David8430 

Thanks for posting this. It's very useful to know.