Can I invite friends for a tea

Philipp1965
Level 2
Osnabrück, Germany

Can I invite friends for a tea

Hello everyone,

this is my first time using Airbnb so I am not an expert. I've rented an entire flat for 3 months because I am doing an Internship. 

The rules of the flat are no parties, no pets and no babies.

The owner added "civilisation guests only". 

So my question is: Can I invite a friend or someone from work for a tea or coffee?

I am not planning to throw a party or something. But I am staying for nearly 90 days and might want to have some private chats at home with a friend from time to time

Thank you all for your help

9 Replies 9
Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Philipp1965 

"civilisation guests only" 😄 😄

You should ask your host, not us.

It is complicated to explain where is a line between what is acceptable and what is not and that's why most hosts don't allow any visitors 24/7, period. At least for short stays, but for midterm and long stays may be different so you should talk with your host. You see, it depends is it the entire home or shared with your host or other guests and roommates, is it an occasional visitor who will drop by and stay an hour or two for a coffee or the one  (or more of them) who will come in the morning, cook and eat with you, take a shower and then watch the movies until midnight... or until the morning. And if the host allows occasional brief visits how could he possibly know when your visitor arrived and left?

But usually, overnight guests are not allowed without host's agreement and additional payment.

Thank you so much 🙂 have a good day

Mike-And-Jane0
Top Contributor
England, United Kingdom

@Philipp1965 it looks as though you are OK to have a friend round but it would be preferable to check with the host.

Thank you! 🙂