Day 30: Why Winter is not off-season in Scotland - it all happens!

Answered!
David9478
Level 3
Kelso, United Kingdom

Day 30: Why Winter is not off-season in Scotland - it all happens!

Hi everyone, I’m a relative newbie to AirBnB even if I'm an oldbie in most other ways. Finally here on my own in a Kelso town mansion meant for the extended families of 200 years ago, my daughter Ailsa and her husband Colin (experienced AirBnB guests and occasional hosts) helped me to list two 1000 sq ft 3-bed spaces. I live in the middle!

The midwinter season is always a favorite time for me, but that’s almost inevitable in Scotland. I’ve been part of the town’s folk and live music scene for over 25 years, and it’s a lovely social aspect to life as well as a chance to see visitors returning year after year. Photo: a full house at one of the club’s festival daytime concerts.

David9478_0-1672409839899.jpeg

Our autumn begins with a folk festival on the first weekend of September and winter probably starts properly with St Andrew’s Day on November 30th – Halloween always means plenty happening between. St Andrew’s Night isn’t anything special but if there’s anything happening like music sessions in pubs there’s normally a traditional Scottish feel.

Here’s a video of a Thursday night session at the Cross Keys:

But in my town we have traditional music every week, year round, with fiddle and smallpipe, flute, whistle, guitar and more on Thursday nights? That’s in addition to the transatlantic cross-generational mix of songs on Fridays!