Host guarantee - airbnb refused to use amount on the receipts and quoted super low market value

Lily203
Level 2
Toronto, Canada

Host guarantee - airbnb refused to use amount on the receipts and quoted super low market value

I have been hosting exclusively on Airbnb in Toronto for a couple of years given its host guarantee programme which provides safety net whenever there is damage. However, it all changed now. Although I have provided my all the necessary receipts, they only compensated based on what they called "market value". The breakdown of their market value is as follows

Sheet set - 20.00% per year / Actual Cash Value = CAD $38.66 -> meaning the full market value is 38.66/80% = CAD42.76
Cover duvet-20.00% per year /Actual Cash Value = CAD $60.03 -> meaning the full market value is CAD 75.04
Bath Towel 1- 20.00% per year / Actual Cash Value = CAD $6.10 -> meaning the full market value is CAD 7.62
Bath Towel 2- 20.00% per year / Actual Cash Value = CAD $6.10 -> meaning the full market value is CAD 7.62

We used 100% cotton linens for our airbnb and the last time I checked, there is not anywhere I could buy same quality items at the price they provided. Their reimbursement did not even take into account the tax (13%) that will be paid for the purchase.  I kept going back to ask them to show me the places I could get the same quality items at the price they provided and they refused to address the concern. So this implies 2 things: 1) Airbnb is telling me to use low quality items to serve our guests or we are fully liable for excess coverage or 2) Airbnb is telling me they are not providing the safety net and the only reason I am hosting exclusively on the platform anymore. 

7 Replies 7
Brian2036
Level 10
Arkansas, United States

@Lily203 

Most insurance doesn’t pay replacement cost unless you pay extra for that coverage. A lot extra usually.