A guest bringing their service dog

A guest bringing their service dog

I am new to hosting an have a question.  A guest reserved and then let me know she would be bringing a service dog.  My listing includes that I have a dog and a flock of chickens nearby the rental and have a no pet policy.  I understand I am not allowed to refuse to rent to her but my young dog will not do well with another being on her property.  What do you suggest?  

5 Replies 5
Kate867
Level 10
Canterbury, United Kingdom

@Kay1406  This is a really tough one because many guests sadly do claim their pet is a service animal in order to take them with them.  Personally I find it a very selfish of them as it does cause an element of doubt in those genuine cases.   I am sure you have seen the service animal rules but include a link just in case you have not.

https://www.airbnb.co.uk/help/article/1869/accessibility-policy

I fully understand your discomfort as I have working spaniels who although well trained absolutely will try to nab a chicken and retrieve it to me on odd occasions.  In the first instance and in your position I would probably contact the guest and ask the two questions you are allowed to ask.  If it is evident that the dog is either not a service animal or it is an emotional support animal then I would ask the guest to cancel.  If it is a genuine service animal, then I would highlight your concerns with regards to your chickens, explain that your dog is quite territorial and ask that her dog is harnessed and restrained at all times when on your property.

Thank you.  I did ask those two questions allowed by air bnb and she said she has anxiety disorder and PTSD and the dog was trained to jump on her lap when she gets anxious. My thought is that if she has anxiety issues bringing her dog on to my property with another dog, and the chickens would seem to bring on more anxiety and would not make any sense.